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This booklet provides an overview of the laws and benefits applicable to extended leaves from work. Additional information can be found on the Benefits 
Office website at https://benefits.llnl.gov/. LLNS has leave management specialists to meet with you and help you through this process. Call the Benefits 
Office at 1-925-422-9955 to schedule an appointment. 

This material is based on California law and some aspects may differ for out-of-state employees. Be sure to contact the Benefits Office.

Whether you are welcoming a new child into your family, caring for a  
sick family member or recovering from a serious illness, you may need 
to take some time off work. We are here to help you during this time.  
This guide provides information about the benefits you may be eligible 
for when taking a leave of absence and checklists to help guide you. 

ADDITIONAL TIME-OFF INFORMATION

•  Other LLNS Disability & Leave Benefits............ Page 22
•  Eligibility Rules........................................................... Page 23
•  How Leave Affects Your Service Credit............. Page 24
•  How Leave Affects Your LLNS Benefits............ Page 25

QUESTIONS? 

Find more information about all 
the policies in this guide on the 
HR Policies website. 

Use the links below to choose the situation and learn what you need to do to make your time 
away from work — and your transition back — go as smoothly as possible. 

I’M HAVING 
A BABY

Time off for 
new moms

Page 3

I’M WELCOMING  
A NEW CHILD  
INTO THE FAMILY

Time off for  
spouses/partners, 
adoptive parents,  
and foster parents

Page 9

I NEED TIME 
OFF TO GET 
WELL

Time off to recover 
from a serious 
injury or illness

Page 13

I NEED TO CARE 
FOR A FAMILY 
MEMBER

Page 17

I AM LEAVING 
FOR MILITARY 
TRAINING OR 
ACTIVE DUTY

Page 20

For additional information about time away from work policies at Lawrence Livermore National Security (LLNS), 
please visit the policy website, HR Policies.
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I’M HAVING A BABY 
TIME OFF FOR NEW MOMS

Congratulations! You are welcoming a new child into your family, and there is a lot to think about. Rest assured, both 
job protection benefits and paid leave benefits are available during your maternity leave. How much you get paid and 
for how long depends on a number of factors, including whether you have Supplemental Disability Insurance and how 
much sick leave and vacation time you have accrued and want to use. See below for details and scenarios. 

JOB PROTECTION
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), California Family Rights Act (CFRA), and Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) 
offer job protection before and after the birth of your child. If you are eligible, all three leaves guarantee reinstatement 
to the same or equivalent position when you return to work. The chart below outlines the maximum workweeks you 
are entitled to under each leave. 

JOB PROTECTION BENEFITS

REASON HOW LONG?

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) • Pregnancy-related disability
• Bonding with your new baby

Up to 12 weeks in a calendar year

California Family Rights Act (CFRA) • Bonding with your new baby Up to 12 weeks within 1 year 
of the birth of your child

Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) • Prenatal/postnatal care
• Severe morning sickness
• Doctor-ordered bed rest
• Post-partum depression
• Recovery from childbirth
• Other pregnancy-related

medical conditions

Up to 4 months per pregnancy*

* Your health care provider determines the actual amount of time that you are considered to be disabled by the pregnancy, childbirth or related
medical condition
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PAY DURING LEAVE
California State Disability Insurance (CASDI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) are available for maternity leave if you 
live in California. You may use your own sick leave and/or vacation accruals to supplement your pay from CASDI 
and your vacation accruals to supplement your pay from PFL. Additionally, LLNS has an option for you to purchase 
supplemental disability through The Hartford. Here’s how it works:

CALIFORNIA STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (CASDI)

• The usual period for CASDI benefits is up to four weeks before your expected due date and six weeks (normal
delivery) or eight weeks (Cesarean section) after birth.
− For information and to apply, visit SDI Online. You will find written instructions and a how-to video.

• CASDI pays either 60% or 70% of your pay during your leave, depending on your income, up to a weekly maximum
of $1,357 for 2021.
− You can use the Disability/PFL Calculator on the CASDI website to estimate your payment.

• You can elect to supplement CASDI with your sick leave and/or vacation accruals.
− You may supplement CASDI with sick leave to receive up to 80% of your salary and may choose to receive 20%
vacation to get to 100%.
− You can also elect to supplement CASDI up to 100% with vacation.

• There is a seven-day waiting period before disability benefits begin.
− During this time, you can elect to use your own sick leave and/or vacation pay or choose not to be paid.

PAID FAMILY LEAVE (PFL)

• After CASDI benefits end, you are eligible for PFL benefits to bond with your new baby.
• PFL pays either 60% or 70% of your pay, depending on your income, up to a weekly maximum of $1,357 for 2021.
• You can elect to supplement PFL with your vacation accruals.

− You may supplement PFL with vacation to receive up to 80% or 100% of your salary.
• You can use the Disability/PFL Calculator on the CASDI website to estimate your payment. You can supplement

PFL with your vacation time.

WAGE REPLACEMENT BENEFITS

REASON HOW MUCH? HOW LONG?

California State 
Disability  
Insurance (CASDI)

Pregnancy-related 
disability

Provides either 60% or 70% 
of your pay, depending on  
your income, up to a weekly 
maximum of $1,357 for 2021.

Up to four weeks before your 
expected due date and for six weeks 
(normal delivery) or eight weeks 
(Cesarean section) after birth

Paid Family 
Leave (PFL)

Bonding with your 
new baby

Provides either 60% or 70% 
of your pay, depending on  
your income, up to a weekly 
maximum of $1,357 for 2021.

Up to eight weeks

SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY

Supplemental Disability Insurance, offered through The Hartford, supplements the disability coverage available to you 
through CASDI, provides coverage to employees outside of California and could pay a higher level of benefits during 
your maternity leave. You may enroll in supplemental disability or change your waiting period at any time. However, if 
you do not enroll within 31 days after first becoming eligible or want to increase your benefits, you will need to submit 
Evidence of Insurability to The Hartford. 
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MATERNITY TIME-OFF EXAMPLES
Here are a few scenarios to help illustrate how your paid-leave and job-protection benefits work together.

EMILY: A HEALTHY PREGNANCY & NORMAL DELIVERY

Emily goes into labor prior to the start of her leave and files a claim for disability benefits when her child is born. 
Because she has a normal delivery (not a C-section), she receives five weeks of paid leave from CASDI after a 
seven-day waiting period and supplements CASDI with her employee sick leave accruals. After six weeks, she is 
no longer disabled, so her disability benefits end. Emily then takes eight weeks of Paid Family Leave and two
weeks of unpaid leave to bond with her baby. 

During the first twelve weeks, FMLA protects Emily’s job. PDL runs concurrently with FMLA and continues while 
she is disabled, up to four months. Once her disability benefits and FMLA end, CFRA offers job protection for the 
remaining leave.

QUESTIONS?

Every situation is different, and at LLNS, we understand that 
these leave benefits can be complicated. For questions,  
call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.
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SARAH: A HEALTHY PREGNANCY & C-SECTION DELIVERY

Sarah files a claim for disability benefits, begins her leave four weeks prior to her due date, and delivers her baby 
during the sixth week. She has a C-section delivery and receives 12 weeks of payments from CASDI after a  
seven-day waiting period. After eight weeks, her disability benefits end. Sarah then takes eight weeks of Paid
Family Leave to bond with her baby and uses her vacation accruals to supplement payment from Paid Family 
Leave. 

During the first twelve weeks, FMLA protects Sarah’s job. PDL runs concurrently with FMLA for 12 weeks and 
continues while she is disabled. Then, CFRA protects her job for the remaining leave.

JESSICA: A DIFFICULT PREGNANCY & C-SECTION DELIVERY

Jessica’s doctor orders her to go on bed rest for eight weeks before her due date. Her job is protected by FMLA and 
PDL until Jessica has the baby. Jessica uses accrued sick and vacation time for the first week, the waiting period. 
(If she had no accrued time, she would take unpaid leave.) After the waiting period, Jessica starts receiving CASDI 
benefits. After her baby is born via C-section, Jessica continues to receive disability benefits for eight weeks. FMLA 
continues to protect her job for four more weeks (a total of 12 weeks), and PDL continues to protect her job until she 
is no longer disabled. She then takes eight weeks of Paid Family Leave to bond with her baby while CFRA protects
her job.
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BEFORE LEAVE

BEFORE PREGNANCY

Go to the Benefits Site to determine your Supplemental Disability needs. 
Get Reproductive Health Counseling from your physician, if desired. 
Determine if you need to save sick leave and vacation accruals.
Take the  Employee Extended Leave of Absence Training

FIRST TRIMESTER

Research day care options and get on waitlists.
Contact the Declared Pregnant Worker program through Health Services, if desired. 
Complete the Reproductive Health and Declared Pregnant Worker form, if desired.

SECOND TRIMESTER

Meet with your supervisor to inform him/her of your time-off plans.
Meet with Benefits to discuss options for pay while on leave. Email loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to 
schedule an appointment. You can meet with Benefits at any time, but no later than 30 days before your 
leave begins. 

THIRD TRIMESTER

Work with your supervisor to make a tentative plan for team coverage while you are on leave.
Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/Guidelines for Managers and 
Supervisors training. If your supervisor has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at 
1-925-422-9955.

WITHIN 30 DAYS BEFORE THE START OF YOUR LEAVE

Obtain an FMLA Certification Form from the Benefits Office. Have your doctor complete the form and return it to 
the Benefits Office. (Kaiser Participants: The Kaiser Business Office should complete the form.) 
Apply for supplemental disability through The Hartford, if applicable. You can file a claim online or by calling 
1-800-741-4306 (8 a.m.–8 p.m. ET, Monday–Friday). LLNS Policy # 395263
If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your leave.
• If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request.
• If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your administrator must complete a department memo and

health authorization.
• Contact Central Clearance with questions.

DATE OF DISABILITY

File a claim at SDI Online to apply for CASDI benefits. You will also find written instructions and a how-to video 
on the site.

(continued)

MATERNITY LEAVE CHECKLIST
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DURING LEAVE

Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California Employment Development Department (EDD)  
to the Benefits Office as soon as you receive it. You should also send a copy to The Hartford, if applicable.
Do not complete a timecard, and tell your supervisor not to complete timecards on your behalf while you are 
on leave. This will be handled by Benefits and Payroll. 
If you are on unpaid leave: 
• Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the month. You will receive a monthly invoice from Payroll.
• If you have a 401(k) plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to

arrange to make payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your loan payment to a monthly
amount and will provide you with instructions. (Your 401(k) plan loan may be suspended for up to 12 months.)

Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to talk about flexible work options.
Contact the Benefits Office to confirm your bonding plan, provide a copy of the Record of Birth from the hospital, 
and confirm the date of birth and whether you had a Cesarean section.
Confirm plans with daycare provider.

WITHIN 31 DAYS AFTER BIRTH

Enroll your baby in the benefit plans. You can:
• Send the Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt Out form to the Benefits Office.
• VPN: Use the Life Event feature to enroll through LAPIS.

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

THE DAY BEFORE YOU RETURN

Notify Health Services if you are returning directly from maternity disability.

THE DAY YOU RETURN

Visit Health Services if you are returning directly from maternity disability leave. If you took bonding time after 
your disability benefits ended, you do not need to visit Health Services.
Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 
days. If you want to continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to re-enroll when you return.

GET READY TO TALK TO YOUR SUPERVISOR

Check out resources to help you discuss your career with 
your supervisor. Go to the Employee Center: 
Development Resource Center – MY LLNL.

MATERNITY LEAVE CHECKLIST (CONTINUED)
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I’M WELCOMING A NEW CHILD 
INTO MY FAMILY 
TIME OFF FOR SPOUSES/PARTNERS, ADOPTIVE PARENTS, AND FOSTER PARENTS

When your family grows, you may want to take some time off to bond with a new baby or child, including adopted and 
foster children. 

JOB PROTECTION
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) offer job protection for new 
parents to take time off to bond with a new child. If you are eligible, you are guaranteed reinstatement to the same or 
equivalent position when you return to work. CFRA generally mirrors the federal FMLA and runs concurrently if you 
are eligible for both. The chart below outlines the maximum workweeks you are entitled to under each leave, within  
12 months of the child’s birth, adoption, or start of foster care. 

JOB PROTECTION BENEFITS

REASON HOW LONG?

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Bond with your new baby, newly adopted 
or foster care child 

Up to 12 weeks

California Family Rights Act (CFRA) Bond with your new baby, newly adopted 
or foster care child

Up to 12 weeks
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PAY DURING LEAVE
Paid Family Leave (PFL) is available to you if you live in California. You may use your own sick leave and vacation 
accruals to supplement your benefits from PFL. Here’s how it works:

• PFL pays either 60% or 70% of your pay, depending on your income, up to a weekly maximum of $1,357  for  2021. 
You may be eligible for up to eight weeks.

• You can elect to supplement PFL with your vacation accruals.
− You may supplement PFL with vacation to receive up to 80% or 100% of your salary.

WAGE REPLACEMENT BENEFITS

REASON HOW MUCH? HOW LONG?

Paid Family Leave (PFL) To bond with a new child 
you have welcomed in the 
past 12 months

Provides either 60% 
or 70% of your pay, 
depending on your income, 
up to a weekly maximum 
of $1,357  for  2021. 

Up to eight weeks

USING YOUR LLNS SICK LEAVE ACCRUALS

REASON WHAT YOU CAN USE

Attend birth Up to 8 hours of employee sick leave accruals

Bond with baby within 12 weeks of birth Up to 80 hours of employee sick leave accruals

USING VACATION AND SICK ACCRUALS TO SUPPLEMENT PFL

REASON WHAT YOU CAN USE

Care for spouse while disabled
• Normal delivery – 6 weeks
• C-section – 8 weeks

Family sick leave accruals

Bond with baby after partner is no longer disabled 
(within 12 months of birth)

Vacation accruals

YOUR GUIDE TO TIME AWAY FROM WORK   |  10



PARENTAL LEAVE TIME-OFF EXAMPLES

MIKE: WELCOMING A NEW BABY

Mike’s wife, Amy, is having a baby. He uses eight hours of accrued employee sick leave to attend the birth and then 
two weeks of his accrued sick leave after birth. He then takes two additional weeks of Paid Family Leave. While Amy 
is still disabled, Mike uses family sick leave accruals to supplement PFL for the next two weeks. Mike then comes 
back to work for two months. He uses another four weeks intermittently over the next five months and uses his 
vacation accruals to supplement PFL payments, because she is no longer disabled. During the entirety of his leave, 
FMLA and CFRA protect Mike’s job. Mike will take the additional two weeks before the end of the 12 month period 
allowed to complete his bonding leave.

JOHN: ADOPTING A CHILD

John and his partner are adopting a baby. He takes 80 hours of employee sick leave for the first two weeks, starting 
on the day the child is placed with his family. Then he applies for Paid Family Leave and supplements with vacation 
accruals for one week. He then comes back to work for two weeks. John decides to take another week off without 
supplementing, and then comes back to work for six months. He completes his PFL by taking off the remaining six
weeks and supplements PFL with vacation. During the entirety of his leave, FMLA and CFRA protect John’s job. 

1 2 3 4 Back 
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for two 
months

5 6 7 8

Back 
to work

FMLA/CFRA FMLA/CFRA

Employee Sick 
Leave Accruals 

(if available)
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Paid Family Leave
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Paid  
Family Leave

Supplement 
with Family Sick 
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Job 
Protection

Week

Pay
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PARENTAL LEAVE CHECKLIST

BEFORE LEAVE

Meet with Benefits to discuss options for pay while on leave. Email loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to 
schedule an appointment. You can meet with Benefits at any time, but no later than 30 days before your 
leave begins, if possible. 
Take the Employee Extended Leave of Absences Training
Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/Guidelines for Managers and Supervisors 
training. If your supervisor has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

DATE OF LEAVE

Provide a copy of the Record of Birth from the hospital or the adoption or foster records to the Benefits Office 
to apply for FMLA/CFRA.
File a claim at SDI Online to apply for Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits. You will also find written instructions 
and a how-to video on the site.
If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your leave.
• If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request.
• If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your administrator must complete a department memo and

health authorization.
• Contact Central Clearance with questions.

DURING LEAVE

Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California Employment Development Department (EDD) to 
the Benefits Office as soon as you receive it. If you are supplementing your leave, you can send it to your Leave 
Management Specialist in the Benefits Office.
Do not complete a timecard, and tell your supervisor not to complete timecards on your behalf while you are on 
leave. This will be handled by Benefits and Payroll.
If you are on unpaid leave: 
• Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the month. You will receive a monthly invoice from Payroll.
• If you have a 401(k) plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to

arrange to make payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your loan payment to a monthly
amount and will provide you with instructions. (Your 401(k) plan loan may be suspended for up to 12 months.)

Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to talk about flexible work options.
Contact the Benefits Office to confirm your bonding plan, provide a copy of the Record of Birth from the hospital, 
and confirm the date of birth and whether your partner had a Cesarean section.
Confirm plans with daycare provider.

Within 31 Days of Birth/Adoption

Enroll your baby/new child in benefit plans. You can:
• Send the Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt Out form to the Benefits Office.
• VPN: Use the Life Event feature to enroll through LAPIS.

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 
days. If you want to continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to re-enroll when you return.
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I NEED TIME OFF TO GET WELL
TIME OFF TO RECOVER FROM A SERIOUS INJURY OR ILLNESS

Sometimes life takes a turn we’re not expecting, which might include sudden illness or injury. If you become ill or 
disabled and are unable to work, you can take time off of work so you can focus on recovering.

JOB PROTECTION
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) offer job protection if you are 
unable to work due to a serious health condition. If you are eligible, you are guaranteed reinstatement to the same  
or equivalent position when you return to work. CFRA generally mirrors the federal FMLA and runs concurrently if  
you are eligible for both. The chart below outlines the maximum workweeks you are entitled to under each leave in 
a calendar year.

JOB PROTECTION BENEFITS

HOW LONG?

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Up to 12 weeks

California Family Rights Act (CFRA) Up to 12 weeks
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PAY DURING LEAVE
California State Disability Insurance (CASDI) is available to you if you live in California. You may use your own 
sick leave and vacation accruals to supplement your pay from CASDI. Additionally, LLNS has an option for you to 
purchase supplemental disability through The Hartford. If you were injured at work, you may be covered by Workers’ 
Compensation instead of CASDI. Here’s how it works:

CALIFORNIA STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (CASDI)

• You can receive CASDI benefits for up to 52 weeks for serious illness or injury.
• CASDI pays either 60% or 70% of your pay during your leave, depending on your income, up to a weekly maximum

of $1,357 for  2021.
• You can use the Disability/PFL Calculator on the CASDI website to estimate your payment. You can elect to

supplement CASDI with your sick leave and/or vacation accruals.
− You may supplement CASDI with sick leave to receive up to 80% of your salary and may choose to receive 20%
vacation to get to 100%.
− You can also elect to supplement CASDI up to 100% with vacation.

• There is a seven-day waiting period before disability benefits begin. During this time, you can elect to use your own
sick leave and/or vacation pay or choose not to be paid.

WAGE REPLACEMENT BENEFITS

REASON HOW MUCH? HOW LONG?

California State 
Disability Insurance 
(CASDI)*

Serious illness 
or injury

Provides either 60% or 70% of your 
pay, depending on your income, up to a 
weekly maximum of $1,357  for  2021.

Up to 52 weeks

* If you live outside of California, your benefits will differ.

SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY
• Supplemental Disability Insurance, offered through The Hartford, supplements the disability coverage available

to you through CASDI and provides coverage to employees outside of California. It pays a higher level of benefits
for a longer period of time while you are disabled. You may enroll in supplemental disability or change your waiting
period at any time. However, if you do not enroll within 31 days after first becoming eligible or want to increase your
benefits, you will need to submit Evidence of Insurability to The Hartford.

See the LLNS Supplemental Disability Plan for details.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
• If you become ill or suffer an injury related to the workplace, you may be covered under Workers’ Compensation.

Workers’ Compensation covers the cost of medical treatment and provides compensation for lost work time.
• The benefit amounts are based on your weekly wages and are determined by California law.** Currently, Workers’

Compensation provides two-thirds of your salary, up to a maximum of $1,356.31 per   week   for   2021.
• You can supplement using sick leave and/or vacation accruals.
• You can also use Supplemental Disability Insurance, offered through The Hartford, to supplement your pay

through Workers’ Compensation or provide coverage if your primary work location is outside of California.
• Contact Health Services and your supervisor as soon as your injury or illness occurs. For additional information,

see Workers’ Compensation Leave Roles and Responsibilities.

**	Workers’ Compensation benefits may differ for employees with primary work locations outside of California.
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DISABILITY LEAVE TIME-OFF EXAMPLE

JOSH: RECOVERING FROM SURGERY

Josh is in a car accident and misses four months of work while he recovers from surgery. Josh uses his sick leave 
accruals to cover his pay for the first week. Beginning the second week of his leave, Josh receives a percentage 
of his pay through CASDI. Josh supplements his CASDI benefits with Supplemental Disability to receive a greater 
percentage of his pay for the full 16 weeks he is on leave. 

For the first 12 weeks, FMLA and CFRA protect Josh’s job. After his 12th week of leave, Josh’s job is not protected, 
but he may be able to return to his job if a business need exists.
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DISABILITY & WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CHECKLIST

BEFORE LEAVE/DATE OF DISABILITY

Meet with Benefits to discuss options for pay while on leave. Email loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to 
schedule an appointment. You should meet with Benefits no later than 30 days before your leave begins, 
if possible. If you are taking Workers’ Compensation Leave, contact Benefits after you meet with Health 
Services.
Take the Employee Extended Leave of Absences Training
Obtain an FMLA Certification Form from the Benefits Office. Have your doctor complete the form and return it to 
the Benefits Office. (Kaiser Participants: The Kaiser Business Office should complete the form.) 
Workers’ Compensation Only: Request your benefit from the Workers’ Compensation Case Worker.
File a claim at SDI Online to apply for CASDI benefits (not available if receiving benefits from Workers’ 
Compensation). You will also find written instructions and a how-to video on the site.
Apply for supplemental disability through The Hartford, if applicable. You can file a claim online or by calling 
1-800-741-4306 (8 a.m.–8 p.m. ET, Monday–Friday). LLNS Policy # 395263
• Send the Notice of Computation (mailed to you from EDD) to The Hartford.
If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your leave.
• If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request.
• If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your administrator must complete a department memo and

health authorization.
• Contact Central Clearance with questions.
Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/Guidelines for Managers and Supervisors
training. If your supervisor has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

DURING LEAVE

Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California Employment Development Department (EDD) to 
the Benefits Office as soon as you receive it. If you are supplementing your leave, you can send it to your Leave 
Management Specialist in the Benefits Office.
If receiving Workers’ Compensation benefits, inform your Leave Management Specialist of the amount. 
Do not complete a timecard and tell your supervisor not to complete timecards on your behalf while you are on 
leave. This will be handled by Benefits and Payroll.
If you are on unpaid leave: 
• Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the month. You will receive a monthly invoice from Payroll.
• If you have a 401(k) plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to

arrange to make payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your loan payment to a monthly
amount and will provide you with instructions. (Your 401(k) plan loan may be suspended for up to 12 months.)

Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to talk about flexible work options.
Contact the Benefits Office to update your expected return date or provide an updated doctor’s note to extend 
your leave.

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

Visit Health Services (notify them one day before). If you aren’t able to return to your previous job full-time or have 
any medical restrictions, let Health Services know.
Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 
days. If you want to continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to re-enroll when you return.
Workers’ Compensation and TCP1 only: Notify the Benefits Office if you wish to buyback service in the 
LLNS Defined Benefit Pension.
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I NEED TO CARE FOR A 
FAMILY MEMBER

If you need time off to care for a family member who has a serious health condition, you may be eligible to take 
job-protected leave so you can be present for the people who matter most.

JOB PROTECTION
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) offer job protection if you need 
time off work to care for a family member. If you are eligible, you are guaranteed reinstatement to the same or 
equivalent position when you return to work. CFRA generally mirrors the federal FMLA and runs concurrently if you 
are eligible for both. The chart below outlines the maximum workweeks you are entitled to under each leave in a 
calendar year. 

JOB PROTECTION BENEFITS

REASON HOW LONG?

Family Medical Leave 
Act (FMLA)

Care for a family member who has a serious health condition. 
Eligible family members include your:

• Children
• Spouse
• Parents

Up to 12 weeks

Care for a seriously ill or injured service member  
or covered veteran. Includes spouse, child, parent, 
or next of kin.*

Up to 26 weeks

California Family  
Rights Act (CFRA)

Care for a family member who has a serious health condition. 
Eligible family members include your:

• Your children, and children of a registered domestic partner
• Spouse or registered domestic partner
• Parents, grandparent, grandchild, sibling.

Up to 12 weeks

* You may also be able to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to take care of family affairs related to your spouse, domestic
partner, child, or parent’s military deployment (called Qualifying Exigency).
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PAY DURING LEAVE
Paid Family Leave (PFL) may be available to you if you live in California. You may use your own sick leave and 
vacation accruals to supplement your benefits from PFL. Here’s how it works:

• PFL pays either 60% or 70% of your pay, depending on your income, up to a weekly maximum of $1,357 for 2021.
You may be eligible for up to eight weeks.

• You can elect to supplement Paid Family Leave with your family sick leave and/or vacation accruals.

− You may supplement Paid Family Leave with sick leave to receive up to 80% of your salary, and you may choose to
receive 20% vacation to get to 100%.

− You can also elect to supplement PFL up to 100% with vacation.

WAGE REPLACEMENT BENEFITS
REASON HOW MUCH? HOW LONG?

Paid Family Leave (PFL) To care for a seriously ill 
child, parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, 
sibling, spouse, registered 
domestic partner

Provides either 60% or 
70% of your pay, 
depending on your income, 
up to a weekly maximum of  
$1,357 for 2021.

Up to eight weeks

USING VACATION AND SICK ACCRUALS TO SUPPLEMENT PFL

REASON WHAT YOU CAN USE

Care for a seriously ill family member Sick leave to 80% of salary and 20% vacation 
to equal 100% of salary

FAMILY CARE LEAVE TIME-OFF EXAMPLE

JOHN: CARING FOR AGING PARENTS

John’s mother becomes seriously ill and needs constant care. He takes eight weeks off to care for her. While he
is away, he receives Paid Family Leave, which replaces a percentage of his pay. Throughout the year, he takes 
two additional two-week periods off to care for her. He uses his family sick leave and vacation accruals after PFL 
runs out. FMLA and CFRA protect John’s job for the full ten weeks.
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BEFORE LEAVE

You can meet with Benefits at any time, but no later than 30 days before your leave begins,  
if possible.
Take the Employee Extended Leave of Absences Training
To make an appointment (recommended) send an email to loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955.
Provide the FMLA Certification of Healthcare Provider to your family member’s doctor (if your family member  
has Kaiser, give it to the Kaiser Business Office).
Return the FMLA Certification of Healthcare Provider to the Benefits Office within 30 days of your leave date. 
Apply for Paid Family Leave benefits on the first day of leave by filing a claim online at SDI Online. You will also 
find written instructions and a how-to video on the site.
If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your leave.

• If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request.
• If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your administrator must complete a department memo and
health authorization.
• Contact Central Clearance with questions.
Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/Guidelines for Managers and Supervisors
training. If your supervisor has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

DURING LEAVE

Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California Employment Development Department (EDD) to 
the Benefits Office as soon as you receive it. If you are supplementing your leave, you can send it to your Leave 
Management Specialist in the Benefits Office.
Do not complete a timecard, and tell your supervisor not to complete timecards on your behalf while you are on 
leave. This will be handled by Benefits and Payroll.
If you are on unpaid leave: 
• Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the month. You will receive a monthly invoice

from Payroll.
• If you have a 401(k) plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to

arrange to make payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your loan payment to a monthly
amount and will provide you with instructions. (Your 401(k) plan loan may be suspended for up to 12 months.)

Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to talk about flexible work options.
Contact the Benefits Office to update your expected return date or provide an updated doctor’s note to 
extend leave.

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 
days. If you want to continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to re-enroll when you return.

FAMILY CARE LEAVE CHECKLIST
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I AM LEAVING FOR MILITARY TRAINING 
OR ACTIVE DUTY

If you are a member of any branch of the military service (including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast 
Guard, Reserves, or National Guard), you are entitled to Military Leave to fulfill your military service obligations, as 
required by federal and state law. 

JOB PROTECTION
You are guaranteed reinstatement to the same or equivalent position when you are released from military service. 
You must return to work within a certain number of days, depending on your length of service:

LENGTH OF SERVICE DEADLINE TO REPORT BACK TO WORK*

1–30 Days or a Fitness Exam Your first regularly scheduled work period on the 
calendar day after you complete your service

31–180 Days 14 days after you complete your service

180 Days or More 90 days after you complete your service

* Refer to the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) for additional scenarios and exceptions.

PAY DURING LEAVE
You may be eligible to receive pay from LLNS while you are on leave for military service.

WAGE REPLACEMENT BENEFITS

TYPE OF SERVICE BENEFIT DURATION

Inactive Duty Full-time: Full regular base pay

Part-time: Based on the percentage of 
hours you worked in the three months  
before your leave

Up to 174 hours per fiscal year

Active Duty LLNS supplements your military base pay  
to equal your regular base pay from LLNS.1 2

Up to 18 months

1. If your military base pay is greater than your LLNS regular base pay, you will not receive this benefit.
2. Military base pay includes certain allowances.
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MILITARY LEAVE CHECKLIST

BEFORE LEAVE

Provide your supervisor or timekeeper with a copy of your orders (if available) as soon as possible.
Your administrator will process a PAS action based on the type of leave (Inactive Duty for Training or Military 
Pay Supplement during Active Duty). Refer to 307 Military Leave. 
Active Duty: Schedule an appointment with the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to 
discuss Health & Welfare benefits while on leave.

DURING LEAVE

Active Duty: Submit a copy of your Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) to Payroll. 
If your military base pay is greater than your LLNS regular pay: 
• Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the month. You will receive a monthly invoice from

Payroll.
• If you have a 401(k) plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to

arrange to make payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your loan payment to a monthly
amount and will provide you with instructions. (Your 401(k) plan loan may be suspended during your leave.)

RETURNING FROM LEAVE

Contact your supervisor to resume your work schedule.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 
days. If you want to continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to re-enroll when you return.
Active Duty: Notify the Benefits Office if you wish to buyback service in the LLNS Defined Benefit Pension or 
make up contributions to the LLNS 401(k) Plan.
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ADDITIONAL TIME-OFF 
INFORMATION

OTHER LLNS DISABILITY & LEAVE BENEFITS

LLNS DEFINED BENEFIT DISABILITY INCOME

If you are a vested LLNS Defined Benefit Pension Plan member and are disabled for 12 months or more, you 
may be eligible for disability income. For more information, see the LLNS Defined Benefit Eligible Disability  
Program Summary.

LLNS CATASTROPHIC LEAVE PROGRAM

If you have no more leave accruals and have a serious illness or injury, a family member with a serious health 
condition, or if you need personal bereavement leave, you may need some help. The LLNS Catastrophic Leave 
Sharing Program may be able to provide the help you need. 

The Catastrophic Leave Sharing Program allows eligible employees to apply for vacation donations from  
co-workers. Your co-workers can voluntarily donate accrued vacation leave to support you if you have exhausted 
your paid leave balances. 

You may not use benefits from the Catastrophic Leave Sharing Program in lieu of other benefits (e.g., sick leave, 
vacation leave, supplemental disability, or State disability). 

YOUR GUIDE TO TIME AWAY FROM WORK   |  22

https://benefits.llnl.gov/content/assets/docs/LLNS_defined_benefit_eligible_disability_program.pdf
https://benefits.llnl.gov/content/assets/docs/LLNS_defined_benefit_eligible_disability_program.pdf
https://benefits.llnl.gov/leave-management/catastrophic-leave


ELIGIBILITY RULES

ELIGIBILITY RULES HOW IT WORKS

JOB PROTECTIONS

The Family and 
Medical Leave Act 
(FMLA)

You are eligible for FMLA and CFRA (California work 
location) if:
• You have worked at least 12 months for LLNS, and
• You have worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12

months before your leave starts.
−− Only hours worked are included. Vacation, holiday,
and sick leave hours are not included in the 
1,250-hour requirement.

You can take FMLA or CFRA 
leave all at once or spread it 
throughout the calendar year 
on an intermittent basis.California Family 

Rights Act (CFRA)*

Pregnancy Disability 
Leave (PDL)*

• You have worked for LLNS for at least one day.
• Your primary work location is in California.

Your leave does not need to 
be taken all at once. You can 
take time off all at once or on 
an intermittent basis.

PAY DURING LEAVE

California State 
Disability Insurance 
(CASDI)*

• Your primary work location must be in the state
of California.

• You have paid into State Disability Insurance
(CASDI) in the past 5 to 18 months.

• You are unable to perform work for eight
consecutive days.

• Your physician/practitioner must complete a
medical certification.

• To receive benefits, you
must file a claim using
SDI Online or complete
a paper claim form no
earlier than your first day
of disability and no later
than 49 days after you
become disabled.

• There is a seven-day
waiting period.

Paid Family Leave 
(PFL)*

• Your primary work location must be in the state
of California.

• You have paid into State Disability Insurance
(CASDI) in the past 5 to 18 months.

• You have welcomed a new child into the family in the
past 12 months through your pregnancy, a spouse’s/
partner’s pregnancy, adoption, or foster care.

−− Provide proof of relationship for bonding
claims (e.g., birth certificate or record, or adoption 
paperwork).

• You need to care for an ill or injured family member
−− A physician/practitioner must complete the
Physician/Practitioner Certification form to 
certify your family member’s illness or injury.  
The Benefits Office or EDD will provide the form 
after you apply online. 

• You have not taken the maximum six weeks of PFL
in the past 12 months.

• To receive benefits, you
must file a claim using SDI
Online or complete a paper
claim form no earlier than
your first day of leave and
no later than your 41st day
of leave.

• There is no waiting period.
• Your leave does not have

to be taken all at once. You
can break up your eight
weeks of leave.

* If your primary work location is not in California, you are not eligible for certain benefits.
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HOW LEAVE AFFECTS YOUR SERVICE CREDIT
If you take an unpaid leave or if your supplemental hours are less than 50% of your regular hours, you may have an 
adjusted service date. If so, you will receive an email message when you return.

VACATION LEAVE AND SERVICE AWARDS 

Qualifying service to determine the rate of vacation accrual is based on the following: 

• A month of service at one-half time or more is a month of qualifying service.
• If you are supplementing a leave of absence and are paid less than 50% of your normal work hours or take an

unpaid leave, your service date for vacation and service awards will be adjusted.

For more information, see the Time Away from Work Policies.

LLNS 401(K) RETIREMENT PLAN

You will continue to earn credited service if you return from an approved disability leave, USERRA (military) service 
leave or a Government Service Leave within 90 days after the end of your leave.

For more information, see the Summary Plan Description. 

LLNS DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN (TCP1)

You will be credited with one year of service for each plan year in which you earn 2,080 or more hours of service 
while an active member in the Plan. You will earn a fraction of a year of credited service in any year in which you work 
fewer than 2,080 hours.

You stop accruing service credit when you are no longer in pay status. You remain eligible for any benefits for which 
you were eligible before your leave began. 

Upon return to active status following a USERRA (military) leave, Governmental Service leave or Workers’ 
Compensation leave, you have the option to make up the mandatory member contributions. The amount of missed 
mandatory member contributions is based on the eligible plan compensation for such period. 

In order to receive hours of credited service, the missed mandatory member contributions must be completed within 
a maximum period of three (3) times the length of the leave, not to exceed five (5) years. Contributions are made 
by payroll deduction and may be made only while you are an employee of Lawrence Livermore National Security. 
If you fail to make the full amount of the missed mandatory member contributions (plus interest in the case of a 
Governmental Service leave or Workers’ Compensation leave) by the deadline, the hours of Credited Service will be 
prorated based on any partial repayment of such missed mandatory member contributions.

For more information, see the Summary Plan Description.
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HOW LEAVE AFFECTS YOUR LLNS BENEFITS
The benefits you receive and the way you pay for them may change if you take a leave of absence. Here is an 
overview of how leave affects your benefits. You can find more information on the Benefits Website. 

BENEFIT PLAN WHILE YOU ARE OUT WHEN YOU RETURN

Medical, dental 
and vision

LLNS will continue to pay the employer 
share of your benefits for up to six months 
while you are receiving CA State disability 
or for the duration of your FMLA.

If you are on a paid leave and are receiving 
enough pay to cover your benefits, your 
premiums will be deducted from your  
LLNS pay.

If you are on an unpaid leave or a paid 
leave but not receiving enough pay to 
cover your cost of benefits, you will be 
billed by the Payroll office. It is important 
to make your payments on time to avoid 
cancellation. 

You can remain on LLNS benefits for up to 
two years if on an approved leave, but you 
will be responsible for both the employer 
and employee share after the first six 
months of leave.

If you continued coverage during  
your leave: Your coverage continues. 

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave: You can re-enroll in the same 
plans that you were enrolled in before your 
leave began within 31 days of returning to 
work using the Life Event option in LAPIS. 
In certain circumstances, you may enroll in 
different plans during this time period. 

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days, 
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will be 
effective the following year.

Legal You can remain covered for up to two 
years if you are on an approved leave 
and if you arrange in advance to pay the 
monthly premium. You are responsible for 
the full cost.

If you continued coverage during  
your leave: Your coverage continues. 

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave: You can re-enroll in the same 
plans that you were enrolled in before your 
leave began within 31 days of returning to 
work using the Life Event option in LAPIS.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days, 
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will be 
effective for the following year.

Accidental 
Death and 
Dismemberment 
(AD&D)

You can remain covered for up to two 
years if you are on an approved leave. 
You must arrange in advance to pay the 
monthly premium and pay the full cost.

If you continued coverage during  
your leave: Your coverage continues. 

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave or if you were not enrolled: 
You may enroll at any time by completing 
an Enrollment, Change, Cancellation,  
or Opt Out form. 
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BENEFIT PLAN WHILE YOU ARE OUT WHEN YOU RETURN

Supplemental Life You can remain covered for up to two 
years if you are on an approved leave. 
You must arrange in advance to pay the 
monthly premium and pay the full cost. 

If you become permanently disabled, 
you may qualify for the Premium Waiver 
Benefit. If this is the case, you may 
continue your coverage without paying  
the premium. 

If you continued coverage during  
your leave: Your coverage continues. 

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave or if you were not enrolled: 
You may enroll at any time by completing 
an Enrollment, Change, Cancellation,  
or Opt Out form. 

Basic Life Your coverage will continue, at no cost to 
you, for up to four months after the month 
your approved disability begins.

Your coverage automatically resumes when 
you return.

Supplemental 
Disability

Coverage (for other disabilities) stops on 
your last day actively at work before your 
disability begins.

If you continued coverage during your 
leave: Your coverage continues. The 
waiting period (7, 30, 90, or 180 days) will 
be the same as before your leave began.

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave or if you were not enrolled: 
You may enroll at any time by completing 
an Enrollment, Change, Cancellation,  
or Opt Out form. 

Dependent Care 
Reimbursement 
Account (DCRA)

Contributions stop when your leave begins. You can re-enroll within 31 days of 
returning to work by completing an 
Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, 
or Opt Out form.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days,  
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will  
be effective for the following year.

Health Care 
Reimbursement 
Account (HCRA)

If you are on an approved FMLA, you may 
choose to continue participation during 
your leave. In this case, eligible expenses 
incurred during your leave would be 
reimbursable. If you choose not to continue 
HCRA participation, eligible expenses 
incurred through the end of the pay period 
in which you made the last contribution are 
eligible for reimbursement.

You can re-enroll within 31 days of 
returning to work by completing an 
Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, 
or Opt Out form.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days,  
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will  
be effective for the following year. 

If you were on leave less than 31 days:  
You may re-enroll for the remainder of the 
year and your contribution must be the 
same as before your leave began.

If you were on leave for 31 days or 
more: You may re-enroll and choose a 
new annual contribution. 
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BENEFIT PLAN WHILE YOU ARE OUT WHEN YOU RETURN

Vacation Leave 
and Sick Leave

You do not accrue vacation or sick leave if 
not on pay status. 

When you return to pay status, you will 
start accruing vacation and sick leave if 
you are in an eligible position. 

401(k) Plan Your contributions and loan payments, if 
applicable, will continue while on paid leave.

If you are on unpaid leave or your pay from 
LLNS is not enough to pay your full loan 
payment, you must make arrangements 
with Fidelity within 12 months of your last 
day on pay status. Your options include:

• Make monthly Electronic Fund Transfers
(EFTs) directly to Fidelity

• Make the full payment in advance for the
period you will be off pay status

• Repay the outstanding amount in full

If you do not elect one of these options 
within the 12-month period, the outstanding 
loan amount will be reported as a taxable 
distribution.

When you return to pay status, savings 
deductions resume automatically. 

If the leave was a USERRA (Military) 
Leave, you are eligible to make up any 
elective deferrals, catch-up contributions, 
and after-tax contributions and receive the 
applicable employer match that you would 
have made to the LLNS 401(k) plan while 
you were gone on an unpaid military leave. 
Please contact the Benefits Office for 
information upon returning from a USERRA 
(Military) Leave.

LLNS Pension Plan You remain eligible for any LLNS benefits 
you were entitled to when your leave began. 
If your leave is greater than three years, it 
will be considered a break in service. 

Mandatory contributions resume 
automatically when you return to 
pay status. 

If the leave was a USERRA (Military) 
Leave, Government Service Leave, or 
Workers’ Compensation Leave and you 
choose to make up the mandatory member 
contributions, you must do so within 
a prescribed timeframe in order to be 
credited with Credited Service in the LLNS 
Defined Benefit Plan for the period of your 
leave. The amount of missed mandatory 
member contributions is based on the 
eligible plan compensation for such period. 

Please contact the Benefits Office for 
information about service credit buyback 
upon returning from a USERRA (Military) 
Leave, Government Service Leave, or 
Workers’ Compensation Leave.
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QUESTIONS? 
Find more information about all the policies in this guide 
on the HR Policies website.

This booklet provides an overview of the laws and benefits applicable to extended leaves from work. Additional information can be found on the Benefits 
Office website at https://benefits.llnl.gov/. LLNS has leave management specialists to meet with you and help you through this process. Call the Benefits 
Office at 1-925-422-9955 to schedule an appointment. 

This material is based on California law and some aspects may differ for out-of-state employees. Be sure to contact the Benefits Office.
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